1. ed.cafe
  2. AI safety guides
  3. Workforce Literacy
Workforce Literacy Includes: Massachusetts AI Hub Public-Data & Records Map For Boston learners, counselors & educators

38,300 Sign-Ups, Zero Published Completions: What Massachusetts' Free AI Training Data Can and Can't Tell Us

Massachusetts' only public figure for its free Google AI training is 38,300-plus sign-ups.

ed.cafe guide banner: 38,300 Sign-Ups, Zero Public Completions by Margot Reyes
Status as of October 2026: US federal & state rules (Massachusetts highlighted where distinct). Primary sources & sample sizes linked inline.
The short answer

nobody outside the program knows how many Massachusetts residents have finished the free Google AI Professional Certificate. The one public figure is more than 38,300 sign-ups between the 26 February 2026 launch and late June 2026, from MassLive's analysis of MassTech records. No count of enrollments, course starts or certificates has been published by MassTech, Google or Coursera as of 15 October 2026. Those numbers exist somewhere in the funnel. This article maps who holds each one and how to request them.

The headline number counts the top of the funnel

More than 38,300. That is the number in circulation, and it measures interest, not learning.

MassLive published the analysis on 17 August 2026. Its site could not be opened for this article, so the figures below are as republished by WindowsForum on 19 August 2026, updated 7 September. Treat that as one source lineage, not two confirmations. The summary is explicit on the key point: "signups are not course completions."

The Massachusetts AI Hub page describes the route in four steps. Step one is "Fill out a short form to express your interest in registration." The page does not explain what happens between that form and the course. The MassLive figures, as summarized, use both "signups" and "enrollment" and do not establish which of the two the records count.

Who signed up, per MassLive's analysis

Each figure below is a share of the 38,300-plus records, as summarized by WindowsForum:

  • Age 55 and over: 23%, the largest age group. Ages 35 to 44 came next.
  • Employed: more than 59%.
  • Professionals seeking to upskill: more than 54%.
  • Stated goal: nearly 45% chose improving skills for their current job; about 30% chose getting a job.
  • Graduate degree: nearly 32%. The summary gives no statewide comparison, so none is offered here.
  • Geography: Boston accounted for more than 13% of participation, followed by Cambridge, Worcester and Springfield in raw numbers. Among Gateway Cities, Fall River, Lynn and Taunton sat at the low end.

Two things were not collected or not reported. MassTech's registration form does not ask about race or gender. And no figures on completions, credentials, job placements or pay were reported. AI Hub director Sabrina Mansur, as paraphrased in the summary, said keeping the form short had been the priority and that adding demographic questions could be considered.

The skew matters for one reason. A sign-up pool that is mostly employed and highly educated is the population most likely to finish anything on its own. If completions are ever published without a denominator, that selection bias will flatter the result.

The measurement funnel and who holds each stage

Here is the path from interest to certificate, with the custodian of each count. Stages marked "inferred" are ed.cafe's reading of how the systems connect, not a documented data flow.

Massachusetts AI Hub Public-Data & Records Map
STAGE                          CUSTODIAN                          PUBLISHED?
1 Interest form submitted      MassTech / MA AI Hub (form)        Yes: 38,300+ through late June 2026 (via MassLive)
2 Coursera invitation sent     MassTech/Coursera; MassHire SPOCs  No
                               for career-center jobseekers
3 Invitation accepted          Coursera (platform record)         No
4 Any course activity          Coursera (platform record)         No
5 Course 1 completed           Coursera (platform record)         No
6 Certificate earned           Coursera / Google                  No
7 Recorded in MOSES            MassHire DCS (center-served only)  No; coding not specified

The documented pieces: the AI Hub owns the interest form. Under DCS Information 14-623, each MassHire Career Center's SPOC sends Coursera invites and runs Coursera reports to "inform counselors of their jobseeker's progress," and counselors update MOSES. So progress data already exists at career-center level for the learners centers invited.

The inferred piece: the program-wide counts for stages 2 to 6 most likely sit in Coursera's administrative reporting for the state license pool. Whether MassTech receives those reports, and how often, is not public.

Entry routes complicate the count. Commonwealth Corporation tells employers and grantees to use the same AI Hub form with the referral code "COMMCORP." If referral codes are stored, sign-ups can be split by the organization that sent them.

What the 38,300 figure cannot tell you

  • Reach. Interest-form records may include duplicates and people who never received or accepted an invitation.
  • Starts. Nobody outside the program knows how many people opened Course 1.
  • Completion rate. With no certificate count, there is no numerator. With no confirmed enrollment count, there is no agreed denominator either.
  • Equity. Without race or gender fields, nobody can test whether the program reaches the residents state workforce policy prioritizes.
  • Which support works. Learners routed through MassHire counselors cannot be compared with learners who went straight from the form to Coursera.

What a records request could return

Massachusetts' public records law, M.G.L. c. 66, § 10, applies to records made or received by state agencies. Requests go to the agency's records access officer and need no set format, though a written request preserves the right to appeal. This is general information, not legal advice; the Secretary of the Commonwealth's Division of Public Records is the official guide. Agencies must respond in writing within 10 business days, may charge reasonable fees, and denials can be appealed to the Supervisor of Records.

A template you can adapt:

Massachusetts AI Hub Public-Data & Records Map
To: Records Access Officer, Massachusetts Technology Collaborative
Re: Public records request under M.G.L. c. 66, s. 10 - Google AI training program

Please provide the following records, in aggregate form only, with no
personal information:

1. Monthly counts, February 2026 to the most recent month available, of:
   a. interest-form submissions for the Google AI Professional Certificate
   b. Coursera invitations issued
   c. invitations accepted
   d. learners with any course activity
   e. learners completing Course 1 (AI Fundamentals)
   f. Google AI Professional Certificates earned
2. The same counts broken out by referral code and by municipality,
   with small counts suppressed as your policy requires.
3. Any program reports MassTech has received from Coursera or Google
   on enrollment, progress or completion.
4. Any provisions in agreements with Google or Coursera that govern
   reporting of program data.

I prefer electronic copies. Please contact me if fees will exceed $____.

A MassHire career center can ask a narrower question of its own SPOC without any request: how many of our invited learners accepted, started and finished?

Why the gap matters now

Free access runs until 31 December 2027, per the AI Hub. As of 15 October 2026, that is 442 days. Outreach decisions for the remaining time are being made without knowing where the funnel leaks. If most of the drop happens between form and invitation, the fix is administrative. If it happens inside Course 1, the fix is support. Those are different budgets.

What would change this picture

This article's central finding ends the day MassTech, Google or Coursera publishes enrollment and certificate counts for Massachusetts. A release that includes both an enrollment denominator and a certificate count, by month, would allow the first real completion rate. A release of certificates alone would not.

ed.cafe will publish its own per-cohort figures in the Finish Ledger, counted against two denominators, once its first cohort has run; read the method there first.

Sources

Free for Massachusetts learners

Finish Google's AI certificate with 30 neighbors in Boston.

Circle #1 is forming now (closes December 1, 2026; zero cohorts have run yet, and every completion count will be published two ways). Educators can run a Finish Line cohort in the Staff Room; L&D leaders can inspect license waste in the Council.